Archive

Archive for April 11, 2011

Sweetest Thing

April 11, 2011 Leave a comment

Exam period is underway, so I won’t be able to post as often as I’d like for the next little while.  I look forward to posting more regularly starting in May.  Now, on to the news!

Spider Man: Turn Off the Dark may be giving him headaches, but at least Bono has something to smile about.  Live Nation Entertainment announced today that U2’s 360° tour, which will make a stop in Montreal this summer, has become the highest grossest tour of all time, edging out the Rolling Stones’ Bigger Bang tour, which previously held the record with $554 million.  What’s more, the tour hasn’t even ended yet! The Irish rock band will play an additional 26 stadium shows before the tour closes on July 30.  When all is said and done, the tour will have been seen by 7 million people worldwide, and will have raked in over $700 million dollars. 

My friend Edward is one of U2’s biggest fans, so I’m used to hearing how great they are.  Nevertheless, I had to pick my jaw up off the floor when I came across this story.  I mean, $700 million is a pretty staggering figure!  I don’t plan on seeing the show, but I’d love to hear from anyone who has tickets to either of the Montreal shows, or has already seen it elsewhere!